logo

Garrett Greer

Garrett's Blog

Welcome to my Blog page where I write about nothing important.

My Coding Journey | My Writing Journey | My Life Journey

Garrett Greer

My Journey Through Coding

December 28, 2022

Garrett Greer

Garrett Greer

Here I give an overview of my journey to becoming a software engineer.

Coding

A Journey

My journey through coding started when I was 18 looking at different majors. The major that interested me the most was computer science. At the time I loved playing around with computers, especially games like most people, but I loved the problem solving aspects of coding. However, I let myself be guided in a different direction. This was 2003 soon after the big tech bust and the market for software engineers hadn't recovered yet. I chose what I thought was the easy path through live and went into biological sciences with an eye on becoming a pharmacist or a doctor. I chose the easy path again and went for pharmacist.